For our June getaway weekend, BeachBoy and I traveled to northern Georgia to visit the 2009 Southern Living Idea House at Achasta. 

Before our trip, however, I conducted a bit of an experiment.  You see, so often, I show BeachBoy a floorplan I KNOW he will love, and he gives it two thumbs down.  He just can’t visualize it.  So, I printed out the floorplan to the Idea House (since it had his name written all over it) and had him take  a look.  His response?  Dull.  Too open.  Boring.  Bland.  Not enough windows.  Typical. (and the list goes on)  In fact, the only thing he liked was the fact that it included a loft (keep that in mind).

Then, I took him to the finished product.  Here’s a peek at what we saw.

house1

Foyer
Living Room
(As viewed from loft)
Dining Room
Kitchen
(disappearing wall)
Laundry Room
Stairs
Decks
Bedroom Level (10 ft. ceilings)
Master Suite (main level)
 
 

 

Loft
loft1
loft2
loft3
